Little ray of sunshine 

A year, infact everyday has its own decked up projects. Each one of these, become a way for you to wake up and run down the same pot hole. It’s just when you have a day off and you feel your room needs to look good. Cleaning all the way, moving around your favourite book rack; you realise that the sun moves around the windows. It changes its course while the rays fall on your bed in the same manner as it does everyday. Although, today while your eyes didn’t take off the little slide through the rusty window chains, you also know that there’s more. It’s good to focus, as said. 

I decided, tomorrow I would wake up early just to feel my room a bit differently. In a sense that when my foot touches the ground, I would be blank because the only time I used to wake was when my mother called me out from the living room. Letting me know that it’s already late. Yet, the sloth soul of mine isn’t ready to see the imitations on the mirror because it was too real. As real, as the sunshine was that day. 

It’s a small story to fit in. Somedays, you just feel the joy in the rays because that is what provides you your own invisible string to pull on. I wonder, how can just a small shadow or reflection on my bed sheets, make me click me a thousand pictures. In fact, now, I might get the slightest of meaning behind, “A thousand splendid suns.” It hugged me when I couldn’t cry, for it wanted me to remember that days are there for you to shine. Just, when the night crawls in with its nostalgic behaviour, the sunrays manage to become your best friend for wherever you go, it follows. 

It whispers like there’s something unsaid. It pours down the peace and hatred just as much is required. Only, the day I woke up early and saw the colours changing, I realised that it was not something that everyone noticed. Even, the 8AM rays of hope was not less than the 3 PM course of heated burning shines. Sunshine just as it is, saved me from the unexpected Kolkata winter. I heard it was extreme this time. Yet, how did the rays know to comfort me when there was no one around. 

It’s not just about the night and it’s unsung journals. It is also about the fair shares of small yellow peeks through the curtain calls. A lot more than what the four walls in my room could ever make up for. If you sit with your daily cup of coffee, you would even realise that there’s more to the regular rants. The ones which always followed your everyday schedule because afterall, it’s too much of a wreck if the sun is above your head. Isn’t it?

Among the chaos of trying again, falling down and getting up each day. The raw peeks of yellow shine through the window, seemed more peaceful than the human interactions. At least because I’d know that it will come back again tomorrow. For I can close my eyes and feel it when the most required soul left the door. Among, the loneliness yet again, the same sunshine becomes my ray of hope everyday. Even when it’s till the time, before darkness takes over. Just wish that it never leaves, for now, there is merely a strong pillar to hold your tears. 

©Trayee

Posted on

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started